lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-01-2016, 08:44 PM   #1
Helirich
Gone Wild

Default Stopping 23" tires

I have 23 or 24" tires. I was doing some testing today and the brakes suck. There is no chance of locking up the wheels even if I stand on em. Right now the cart is 36V, but I'm upgrading to 48. I can only imagine how bad they will be when I can go over 20 mph.

Is the poor stopping because they are out of adjustment or are those tires just too big for those little drums? I pumped them fifty times hopping to click the self adjusters. (Same after.) I recently had the drums off and I think they are adjusted pretty good. But I'm pretty new to cart world.

I need to know quick because I'm thinking of ordering a new controller. (Might as well fill up the box for shipping.)
Helirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-01-2016, 08:53 PM   #2
dougs_huntingcart
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Stopping 23" tires

Physics. momentum= mass x velocity . It takes more to stop a taller tire and you're talking about adding more velocity.
I'd fill that box with a nice front brake set.
dougs_huntingcart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 10:15 PM   #3
Epb
Gone Wild
Club Car

Rear discs are great! Some sponsors sell them.
Epb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 10:43 PM   #4
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Disconnect the cables at the brakes to adjust the brakes. Many people adjust only at the pedal, which eventually leads to the brake lever geometry being poor & lame brake performance. Or, just buy some discs, and never look back.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 07:08 AM   #5
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helirich View Post