lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-23-2019, 10:26 AM   #1
thearmchairtech
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Smile '99 DS Alltrax DCX 500 upgrade

Hi everyone. Last week I picked up '99 Club Car DS Electric "project cart". The previous owner had started down the path of upgrading the motor to an MOT-A2 10HP motor, a new Alltrax DCX 500 amp controller, and an upgraded 400A solenoid. Then it sat for a couple years and he decided it was one project too many. I've never done anything with golf carts before, but I have put together solar systems and have a background in electronics. I figured I would give it a shot.

The Alltrax directions are excellent. There were a few times I got confused, but after re-reading the directions and the wiring schematic, it became clear. Once I got the thing running, I fell in love with it. I knew it would be quiet, but it's almost completely quiet. You can just hear the whine of the motor while it's pulling uphill/accelerating, and on flat ground, all you can really hear is the sound of the tires rolling over the grass.

Once I got into the home stretch, I made a video going over each step and showed the corresponding wiring, including some troubleshooting and finally to running it around the yard. Since I kept coming across this forum while doing research, I figured I'd share the video here. I wouldn't call it a definitive how-to video because I was learning as I went. Also, I took a couple shortcuts since I was using parts I have on hand, but I make note of that in the video.