lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-13-2020, 05:27 AM   #1
Ajaysummer
Not Yet Wild

Default Diagnosing intermittent running issues

I have a 1991 Electric EZGO Marathon 36v series system (based off what I am able to deduce). I believe I have the solid state version as I don't see any resistor coils and from my understanding the coils are quite obvious. It was given to me recently and I am by no means a professional when it comes to electric vehicles. I was told that the cart would originally quit working when a bump was hit, but would go again after letting off and hitting the accelerator again. Then one day it wouldn't move at all. Solenoid was replaced (prior to me obtaining the cart) and clicks when the key is on and forward and reverse conditions are met. I was messing around with some connections yesterday and it moved a few times for me briefly (not sure which connections were the culprit because I was checking all of them for security). It would only go when I depressed the accelerator only a little at first, but then it ran beautifully for a few minutes (until I put it away it ran fine - despite hitting bumps and joyriding down the block). It did have trouble climbing even the slightest hill, but I attribute that to only having 34 volts off the batteries at the time. I charged it overnight and now nothing again. Solenoid still clicks. Fully charged I am reading 42 volts off the batteries. After disconnecting the charger and with the system turned off still I am hearing a "buzzing" noise from either the controller or potentiometer (somewhere in that area). I need some help diagnosing the issue here. I am suspecting the potentiometer vs the controller being bad or having a bad connection somewhere on that side of the solenoid. I suspect the motor i