lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-17-2021, 02:10 PM   #1
blue00018
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Previously converted 1988 EZGO Marathon stopped running

I have a 1988 EZGO Marathon that I have owned for about two years. Recently it stopped running. This is my first golf cart and I have little prior knowledge about golf carts.

I started to research my problem on various internet sites, obtained and reviewed the 1988 Marathon parts manual and eventually discovered that my cart was not the same as the diagrams for a 1988 Marathon. I obtained enough knowledge to realize that it has been converted from a resister coil to a solid state controller system. The change has made it difficult for me to diagnose my problem as it is now wired completely differently from diagrams that apply to either system (I have studied the Curtis 1204 manual in analyzing the wiring to my controller as no info was available for the controller in my cart).

As converted it is a 36 volt system with a 974-3615-610 36 volt Trombetta solenoid, Hyundi GOC-100 275 volt controller, a manual F/R switch, a PB-6 type 2 wire throttle and I believe it has the original motor. Many original wires in the cart have been taped off. On the controller the black and white throttle inputs are present but the other end of wires are not connected to anything. Direction change is accomplished by a wire from the F/R switch that connects to the throttle and then goes to the 2nd small lug on the solenoid with a wire from that lug to the KSI input on the controller.