lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-09-2020, 05:10 AM   #1
Bbrooks8159
Not Yet Wild

Default Jacobsen 810 - 295 Robin - No Spark, new ignitor and pulsar.

I am new to the world of golf carts. I recently purchased a Jacobsen 810 with what i believe is the Robin 295 engine. It had no spark. I occasionally would see a random spark while testing.
I read a few threads on hear as well as looked at google for info. I tested both resistance and well as ac voltage at the pulsar. I had just shy of .1 v ac while cranking and 20 ohms resistance. I read several contradictory posts about resistance should be 75-150 ohm and cranking ac voltage should be at approx .5v. I ohmed the new one i purchased and the resistance was approx 160 ohms and observed the cranking voltage after install which was now .14v ac. Still no start.
I cleaned my ground and power clip on wires to the ignitor. still no spark. Replaced ignitor with $30 china replacment. - still no spark. I ohmed the wires from the pickup coul connector to the 4 pin connector and the ignitor and also ogmed the wires from the coil back to the ignitor and both test out good. When i check with a test lamp i have power while cranking on the positive side of the coil. But with a grounded test lamp i do not on the negative side. I ohmed the coil and the secondary tests right, but the resistance on the primary side is minutely higher than the spec. but if i unhook the wire and tap it repeatedly on the coil while cranking it will throw some sparks.
I then grabbed a known good ignition coil from a gm 3800. i made two jumper wires from the original robin style coil and still could not get spark. i then switched the wires as i did not know which side of the gm coil was pos and neg and still no spark.