lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-13-2012, 05:48 PM   #1
DEERSLAYER81
Not Yet Wild

Default G16 Cart Not shifting Governor / clutch issue

Hello everyone, First off Im new to this but have used the site for years and have used preious members posts to help in many trouble shooting instances. You folks are very helpful and I thank you in advance for your help. Im at my ends wit here, out of ideas and patience. Im having some type of clutch or governor issue. To make a long storty short the cart wont down shift or the clutches wont "hold" or "open" up under load. In nuetral or on jack stands the clutches operate perfectly... no issues at all they open up and close as they should. Under a load (drove around with the seat off) the belts kinda sits in the middle the clutches wont open up all the way and the belt wont drop down. Heres what ive done already.

-one primary clutch weight and roller replaced (one was wore and stuck -flat spot)
-tore down the primary replaced the seals and bushings cleaned it extensively lubed with a dry lube(the original seals and bushings were wasted) the previous owner must have put an entire tube of grease in it.) you can eat off of it now
-new belt
-new secondary clutch spring and inner sheave along with rear bushings and seals
-secondary spring was set in the stock position and set with a 1/3rd turn in
-new rear ramp shoes (they are touching the ramp(s) and ride on them nicely)
-new plug
-new fuel filter
-new air filter
-engine has 148 lbs of compression
-new valve seals