lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-24-2020, 05:16 AM   #1
JLBachs
Not Yet Wild
Mixed Breed

Default Origin of red wires to small solenoid post

Hello all,
I am new to carts and have an old Melex, which I was told is a Polish copy of an EZGO. It's a model 252 and the solenoid will not click when the accelerator is pressed. It will click when jumped from the large solenoid post with power. There is only one wire on the + side small post. I can look in the insulation for its connector and see that there used to be another red wire. The EZGO troubleshooting flowchart I found mentions two red wires at this connection. The wire that is present comes from the foot pedal switch. I can not find a hanging wire anywhere. Can anyone tell me where this second red wire should have came from?
Also, all of the diagnostic flowcharts I see mention either 36V at the small solenoid post, or zero voltage. I have 4. Could this be voltage drop from a bad wire or connection? If I check voltage on the wire that goes to the small post while it's unattached, it has battery voltage instead of the 4 it has when it's attached. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.
TIA
JLBachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-25-2020, 08:00 PM   #2
JLBachs
Not Yet Wild
Mixed Breed

Default Re: Origin of red wires to small solenoid post

Update on this - found a broken-off third post on the key switch that is hot with the key on. I do not believe it is 100% correct, but I ran a short length of primary wire from this to the + post on the solenoid and everything seems to work with no overheating of any part.
Old 06-25-2020, 10:52 PM   #3
nickdalzell1
Resident Curmudgeon