lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-03-2020, 07:39 AM   #1
Minnesoootan
Not Yet Wild

Default 2008 Precedent jerks after running 20 minutes

Newbie here! Thanks in advance for any guidance on this one. It has had me stumped for a few weeks.

2008 48v Precendent PQ serial code. 3" RHOX lift, 20x10-12 wheels, Revolution speed magnet installed after issue started. 4 gauge wires everywhere (also installed after issue started). GE Motor. 2017 Trojan T-1275 batteries. Cart fully charges to 50.98 volts.

After driving at pretty much full throttle for 3 miles on pavement (somewhat hilly), the cart will start to jerk. It's not just coasting, it acts like it's hitting regeneration mode for a split second and then takes off. This happens about every 5 seconds at full throttle. If I left off the pedal slightly, it stops for about 30 seconds and then starts again. I have to go slower and slower to keep it from happening until the cart drops into limp mode and we go home very slowly. When I get home, I test the battery pack at about 49.4 volts.

I was thinking it might be a controller issue and thought I could "fool" it with a speed magnet. Nope. Then I checked the motor and it seemed pretty hot after running so thought all cable should be swapped out from 6 gauge to 4 gauge. No help.

This just started happening about 6 weeks ago. I do have a multimeter and a digital clamp meter with min/max so can test amperage draw (largest draw I've seen on a small incline was about 154 amps). Lowest voltage I've seen under acceleration on any one battery was about 11 volts.

If I let it sit and cool for a few minutes, it runs fine for a little while but then starts again. I have done the standard push test for the controller and have reset the OBC.