lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-26-2012, 04:23 PM   #1
NNFD197
Not Yet Wild

Default Need info on solenoid install

I just purchased a 1992 gas marathon and the solenoid in it was a 3 terminal 12v that is fried. I found out online that its the wrong solenoid(it's for lawn mowers apparently) so I purchased the correct 4 terminal solenoid but have no clue how to install it. I've looked at diagrams online but I am lost. This is my first time on here so please be gentle, thanks.
NNFD197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-26-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
RSP
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Default Re: Need info on solenoid install

One big post to battery, other big post to starter, one small post gets 12v when you step on the gas and the other small post is a ground, I think, been a long time since i worked on one of those, im sure others will come along and help also

One thing you have to remember, the solinoid has to have power to one of the small posts whenever you step on the gas pedal, they are built to work all the time, the ones you get at the lawnmower or auto store are only made for short time contact, like when cranking the engine. They will fail very quickly if used continuesly like on a golf cart, i found that out the hard way, :)

and welcome to BGW
RSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:13 AM   #3
1fast67
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

i believe all 4 post are 12v positive and are self grounding when bolted the bracket. you can still get three post but you have to go to somewhere that sells and install snowplows/ lift gates. thats where i got mine.

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2
1fast67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:08 AM   #4
NNFD197
Not Yet Wild