lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-14-2013, 11:53 PM   #1
Famous58
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default 94 Marathon Oil Leak/Vibration

I'm pretty new to this thread, but I've owned an 94 EZGO Marathon Gas for a few months now. It has had a few issues since I bought it, but I just havent had the time to mess with them too much yet. Im wanting to get started on fixing the issue, so I can get the mechanical issues taken care of so I can finish up the paint and cosmetics (easy stuff).

Anyway, I have two main issues that I need some help with if anyone has some suggestions or help. One being a pretty good motor oil leak, the other being a heavy vibration in the rear half of the cart.

Let's start with the oil leak. I have worked on this a little bit previously, but didnt get it completely taken care of. After buying the cart, knowing it had what the previous owner said was a tiny/slow oil leak, I found out that the only reason is was leaking slowly was because it had so much old oily mud packed around the motor and skid plate that it made the illusion of a small leak when in reality it was worse. The oil leaks mostly into the fan blades/cover, and onto the skid plate, and then onto the ground. It APPEARS to be coming directly from the bottom of the motor through a gasket which I would call a crank case cover gasket.
My questions are. How serious is this fix?
I thought I had the oil leak fixed when I found oil bubbling out of the oil pressure sensor (which was not hooked up) so i plugged the hole with a pipe plug and thread tape and thought I was good...not the case. It appears to still be leaking from the bottom of the case.