lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-24-2011, 03:23 PM   #1
evcrawfish
Not Yet Wild

Unhappy yamaha g2 pickup coil ground burnt off

hello everybody, i'm new to golf carts, but not new to turning wrenches. bought this yamaha g2 golf cart a couple of weeks ago. frame was rusted out under the battery area so i started with that. stripped the "body" off, welded in new metal to fix the frame. repainted the "body" and recovered the seats. after putting it all back to together i started working on the engine mechanicals. i did an internet search and found an owners manual and in it it has a wiring diagram and since i have no idea of the history of this cart i wanted to start there. so after a few hours of sorting it all out i found that only a couple of wires were in the wrong spots. corrected them and moved onto the "research" of what normal maintenance and adjustments were normal on a g2 golf cart, since i have no idea if any of that has ever been done. i read bunches of threads here on BGW and found how to set the valves, done. .004. took the carb apart and did a thorough cleaning, done. new fuel lines from fuel tank to carb, as well as taking pump apart and cleaning it out. vacuum lines on engine seem to be in good shape as well as the check valve in said vacuum lines. entire airbox was missing so i installed a K&N air filter and found my mixture screw would only run the cart turned out 1/2 turn instead of the 1 1/2 turns recommended. so new jet in carb. now seems like the mixture is set ok at about 1 1/4 turns out. so i'm good so far. but during checking the wiring i found that the 3 wire hook up on the pickup (pulser?) coil. the ground wire was missing, so i ran a wire directly to the battery. when i started the engine, well tried to the