lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-05-2014, 10:08 PM   #1
newb24
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default 2010 Yamaha Drive Transaxle Oil Change

Well, I just got my Yamaha Drive a few weeks ago and it started making noise with a load in the back, I figured it was over due so thought I would start by draining the transaxle oil and see if that would do anything to assist with the noise.

I'm very new at this and am handy but not mechanically inclined with motors and mechanical items.

My best advice to any other newbs trying this is to just crawl underneath the cart and take out the inspection/fill plug and the drain plug, I read or saw somewhere about accessing the fill plug under the bag compartment, I'm not sure my 10 year old's hand can fit in there, I know mine couldn't. Filling it back up with gear oil was a magic trick for me, I could barely get the bottle out and with the rear seat in, I'm not sure a funnel would have worked any better.

Here are some photos of what came out of there...see attached. The drain plug had about a half inch of gunk on it and the rest came out like black sludge.

I tried to tilt and lean the cart to get it all out and dumped some fresh gear oil in to help get all of it out, I did my best but I wish I had a better way to flush it or something. I don't know if this is normal, but the smell was god awful and it was so thick and so black, I ended up with it all over me.

Good news is that I got that stuff out, bad news is I still need to get some more oil because I wasted so much trying to flush it out.

I didn't see any shavings or anything in there and everything looks dry underneath so I guess we will have to wait and see if it fixes or helps anything, regardless I think it needed changed!