lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-13-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
jmied01
Not Yet Wild

Default 2001 48v stuck in "overvoltage shutdown"

Hey all, newbie here with some problems...

Bought my 2001 Club Car 48v and went straight for a 6" lift and tires. Somehow, after the dust settled, reconnected the batteries, went for a ride and long story short, fried the stock controller. Then went for the Alltrax 500amp; installation went off without a hitch; all worked great. After a few trips around the yard, I thought maybe I'm due for a little charge. Plugged it in, and thought it was weird that the charger clicked, but not the controller, as it normally would with the stock one. Anyway, went back to work, and batts charged about 6-7 hrs. Came back to the cart at night and charger was still cranking and a couple batteries seemed to have boiled. (uh-oh.) Unplugged cart, and no go. Controller now shows 7 red blinks; aka, "overvoltage shutdown". Now after about 2 hrs, still blinking red and no go. Did I fry my OBC? Did I sizzle my batteries? How can I draw my batts down to kick the controller off shutdown? I need help!
jmied01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-14-2009, 03:06 AM   #2
roady89
nimda
Club Car

Default Re: 2001 48v stuck in "overvoltage shutdown"

Welcome to BGW

Its possibly the over voltage setting on the Alltrax is set too low. Not very common but I have seen it once. Can you take a reading of the entire pack voltage? Theres no real good way to pull them all down unless you have a Dc to DC convertor and run something. I'd take a pack voltage reading and go from there.
roady89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:09 AM   #3
jmied01
Not Yet Wild