lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-24-2009, 07:44 PM   #1
joe gi
Not Yet Wild

Default 96 48 volt club starts then stops

Hi All

I am new to carts and was given this electric club car. I am looking for some advice. I have read a couple threads discribing resetting the OBC but I haven't seen any thing that discribes the symptoms and why one should reset, and what the outcome would be. This cart begins to move but if the accelerator is pushed very far or if the load is inceased (as in a bump) a solinoid clicks and the cart stops. If I back off the accelerator and reapply, it begins to move but will repeat the shut down again when enough load (very little) is applied. Works the same in F or R. There are 2 solinoids aft of the batteries. The throttle potensiometer is suspect but I am not sure. The microswitch works good. If it was the potentiometer I would think the cart would begin to move after backing of the accelerator, But you have to back all the way off so as to open the microswitch circuit and reapply the acceleator. Any ideas?
joe gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-24-2009, 09:35 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 96 48 volt club starts then stops

Welcome Joe! Good bit of diagnostics, replace the micro and see? Also you could check the potentiometer output. It should be 5k - 0
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 10:12 AM   #3
joe gi
Not Yet Wild

Is this how a cart acts with low battery voltage?

I charged it two days ago and 1 hr after charge, it had 50 volts. This morning it has 45 volts and I have only been doing some trouble shooting.

Has anyone tried four 12 volt optima (gel cell) batteries in a 48 volt cart, or three for a 36 volt?