lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-15-2011, 11:33 AM   #1
DRAG
Not Yet Wild

Default Options for my 2001 EZGO...new here

Hi everyone. I'm new to carts and I don't have a very specific question...mostly lots of questions that would cover many topics and different sections of the forum. I figured one thread is as good as 20.

I just purchased a 2001 EZGO 36v cart to use at the drag strip to pull my race car to the line and back to the pits after a run. It isn't perfect, but runs great and has a new yellow paint job so it was cared for before I got it. Guess I will start with the questions.

1: I paid $1550 for this car with a charger, and it has new paint, but not the greatest paint work. It is mechanically sound after I rewired the FNR switch. Is that a fair deal?

2: The cart has decent speed...about 17 on flat ground, 22 down a slight decline, 13 up the same incline. However, I feel like it really runs low on juice after about 2 miles of driving. It still has the speed on flat ground, but definitely down on torque. I'm afraid it won't pull my car well. What is a typical acceptable range on a healthy 36v system? I would hate to spend $600 on new batteries only to find out that its just the nature of the beast.

3: I'm weighing the costs of upgrading to higher voltage...like 72v -OR- investing in a gas conversion. Again I'm worried more about towing than high speed...so possibly would debate putting a larger ATV motor in the cart.
-What would I spend to properly upgrade to 72v...and how is the battery life?
-Is it easy to find the rear axle and how much should I pay for the axle if I do decide to convert to gas?