lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-16-2017, 01:59 PM   #1
brianmac42
Not Yet Wild

Angry Yamaha G29 torque issues

This is my first time on BGW so sorry for the lengthy post.

My wife purchased a 2013 G29 48v electric cart for my xmas present. We live 4 hours away from where she purchased the golf cart that includes a 90 day warranty. I have driven many carts and play golf so pretty familiar with speed and torque and the uphill speed

I took it for a spine and noticed the cart very slow and extremely slow going up the slightest hill. I have a steep driveway (about 30-35 degrees) and barely made it up the driveway on a full charge. I thought the cart was going to stall/stop. My wife drove it back to the dealership for them to look at. They did a computer diagnostic and came up nothing. They said 1 battery seemed a little off and changed it out. The speed code was originally set to #2 speed and asked them to bump it up to #4 which gives me 19 MPH. I was hoping this would help the torque/speed uphill as well.

I took it for a spin and does all 19mph on a straight away. However, the torque/speed up didn't change at all. I go 2 mph up my driveway and about 4-5 mph on 10-15 degree hill. The best way to explain it is that once I it the smallest 10 degree hill it shoots down the mph/torque instantly even if I’m hauling 19mph. It’s almost like my downhill (Freedom mode) speed sensor is backwards and slows down with the slightest incline. They eliminated the downhill sensor so it’s on the freedom mode.

My neighbor who has a Club Car with no speed/motor modification climes my driveway and hills with no problem at 8-10 mph.