lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-26-2017, 12:18 PM   #1
theranch1968
Not Yet Wild

Default golf cart drastically slows after about 1 mile

First of all, sorry for the duplicate post. I originally posted in the "garage" forum and it was suggested that I move here for better/quicker response. Mod, please feel free to delete the other.

Hello, I am fairly new to electric golf carts. I have a little above average mechanical skills. My issues is my yamaha ydre with alltrax controller, on full charge, it goes about 1 mile (in distance not speed). After that distance, it slows to a crawl (about 3 mph). I immediately check all the batteries and they all are reading 8 volts plus except for the one that hooks the negative cable to the motor (it only reads 4 volts). Let it sit a while and check it again and it is up to 7 volts. I am assuming that the other batteries are charging it up since they have higher voltage. I am assuming that I need to replace the battery, but wanted to check here first to get confirmation. The batteries are only about 2 1/2 to 3 years old and are Trojan T-875. I am assuming that the battery has a low capacity (or something like that) and it drains down faster than the others which is why it slows instantly after about a mile. Since it is the battery that actually hooks the negative to the motor, it is less forgiving. Any and all comments are appreciated.
theranch1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-28-2017, 11:17 AM   #2
CrazyDad
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: golf cart drastically slows after about 1 mile