lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-13-2020, 06:23 PM   #1
rjbears1
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Swapping g2 motor into a g16

Hey guys, first time posting anything here. I have a g16 cart that the motor is bad in, and have a g2 that's getting a clone put into. My question is what it will take to install the g2 engine into the g16. I'm new to all the Yamahas, all I've ever worked on was club cars. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
rjbears1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-14-2020, 06:40 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: Swapping g2 motor into a g16

You'll need the complete wiring harness and electronics from the G2. Since you have both carts I think you'll find that it's possible. Pretty much everything electronic in the engine compartment will need to swap over.
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 07:12 AM   #3
rjbears1
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Thanks I appreciate the info, will it bolt up just fine, or will I have to have to do some modifications?
rjbears1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 07:42 AM   #4
raydhd
VC 460 CLONE GONE WILD

Yamaha

Engine mounting plate and engine cradle not to mention exhausts systems are completely different.
raydhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 11:57 AM   #5
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

It's so much work, just to install a less powerful engine, I dont think it's worth it. Not a single thing is gonna bolt up the same, tons of fabrication that has to be just perfect to get the clutch just where it needs to be.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:56 PM   #6
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha