lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-30-2021, 07:06 PM   #1
rojo143
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default New to me G29 with a bad smoking habit

Hello everyone this is going to be a little long winded but I am new to the cart world but not new to engines or mechanics. I have a new to me 2011 G29 carb cart. The cart live a rough life before me and I got it cheap because it smoked pretty bad while running. Since I got it home I pulled it apart and cleaned everything so I could begin trying to source the reason for the excessive smoking. I initially started with and oil change and tune up kit to start fresh (which it had a lawn mower size spark plug in it). After changing the oil and running it for about 45 minutes total I checked the fresh oil and it was already black and smelled like gas. So I changed the oil again adjusted the valves to within specs, cleaned the carb and replaced the fuel pump. The cart is still smoking although better than initially, but still excessive. I guess I am looking into opening up the engine to look at the rings. My main question is how likely am I to have to bore the motor? Or are these pretty resilient engines.
rojo143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-30-2021, 07:32 PM   #2
Mjmck
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: New to me G29 with a bad smoking habit

Check out my build thread for some images. Start off with a compression test to give you an overall idea of engine health. As long as the bore isn't pitted or nicked for any reason a hone can suffice if within tolerances. My cart had 125 PSI compression and was a mosquito fogger.
Mjmck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 07:35 PM   #3
rojo143
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mjmck View Post