lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts > Melex

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-17-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
cartmann32
Not Yet Wild
Mixed Breed

Default Motor Upgrade in a Melex 512

Ok, so I'm a newb at this, but I figured I'd ask here before I get too involved.
Here is what I have out of my Melex 512 electric.
I was to upgrade to a better, faster motor.
Where do i go from here?
Replace with an EZGO compatible one, that's higher grade?

cartmann32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-22-2010, 12:34 AM   #2
BLakeside
Gone Wild

Default Re: Motor Upgrade in a Melex 512

Cartmann that is the same motor I have in my 512E. What are going to use your cart for. Do you want more speed ,torque. your best bet is to call Plum Quick (site sponsor) They are known for great customer service and advice. I need new battery's so I am going to switch to 48volt system using the 36volt motor. I put a friends 48v set of Trogen battery's in my cart had and all the speed and torque I needed. Other people on the forum say they had no problem running 48v through a 36v motor.
BLakeside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 03:21 PM   #3
cartmann32
Not Yet Wild
Mixed Breed

I'm just using this on flat ground.....pavement pounder if you will.
just want it to go faster...that's all.

So, for the 48 volt....I'll need new batteries and a new solinoid...right?
Old 09-22-2010, 06:52 PM   #4
dougmcp
Gone Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartmann32 View Post
I'm just using this on flat ground.....pavement pounder if you will.
just want it to go faster...that's all.

So, for the 48 volt....I'll need new batteries and a new solinoid...right?
And a 48v controller and a 48v battery charger.
A 48v conversion usually yields 30% more speed and torque than a 36v.
dougmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 08:09 PM   #5