lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-17-2015, 01:05 PM   #1
donnie587
Not Yet Wild

Default do i need to buy an upgraded motor?

hey guys, im a noob to all the cart stuff,so I was wondering, I have acquired a 2001 36v series cart with lift kit,and back seat bed attachment. was wanting to know if I had to upgrade motor to get more out if it. thanks
donnie587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-17-2015, 01:55 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: do i need to buy an upgraded motor?

It depends on what you are going to use the cart for and what kind of performance you want to get.

You mentioned the cart was lifted, so it probably has tires taller than stock (18"), which means the cart has less than stock torque.

You can regain most or all and then some of the stock torque at the low end by installing a controller that will pass more amps than the stock 275A controller.

You can gain both speed and torque (throughout the RPM range) by upping the 36V battery pack to 42V or 48V.

A stock 36V series motor will handle up to a 500A controller and up to a 48V battery pack okay.

If the tires are really tall and/or the loads are really heavy and/or steep hills, you may need more motor.

Tells us more about the cart and what you want to do with it.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 02:39 PM   #3
donnie587
Not Yet Wild