lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-09-2014, 03:06 PM   #1
colu41
Getting Wild

Default 91 Club Car No Spark

I bought this a few days ago with the intention on just replacing the starter and rollin. But the guy I bought it from apparently didn't know anything he was talking about.

We were able to get it turning over. Battery and Starter are fine. But has no spark. I was able to bring in the Ign. Coil and it works perfectly fine. What do I check now? I'm not a mechanic by all means but if someone can lead me to what to do, I can do anything.

I heard of checking inside that casing on the side of the motor for more of some type of coils?

Thanks for any info! I can't wait to get this thing driving so I can start the overhaul
colu41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-10-2014, 02:32 PM   #2
colu41
Getting Wild

Default Re: 91 Club Car No Spark

So I had the coil tested. It not only makes spark but holds it. Now what do I check? Rev limitor? Flywheel?
Old 08-10-2014, 06:50 PM   #3
bcsman
Getting Wild
Club Car

My 1993 had intermittent spark and was fixed by disconnecting the ground on the rev limiter. Not sure if the 1991 is setup the same. If it is, easy to do and will quickly tell you if that is the problem.
bcsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:55 PM   #4
colu41
Getting Wild

The limiter is straight wired right into the coil but I read the same. Ended up cutting both the brown and black wires on the limiter (hopefully both were grounds) and still no spark. Still turns over though so. I wonder what it Could be. Going to have to get some connectors and put those wires back together now! lol
Old 08-10-2014, 08:31 PM   #5
bcsman
Getting Wild
Club Car