lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-21-2011, 09:14 PM   #1
kristopher2247
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default question about 6volt and 12volt batteries

hi im new to the golf cart world and my batteries are 6volts and i have 6 of them. i was wanting to know if i could get 12volt batteries to put in it cause i can get them for 20.00 a battery. but does it hook up the same,and will i need 6 or 3 if anybody could help that would be great. thank you kris
kristopher2247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-21-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
Spawn
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: question about 6volt and 12volt batteries

12 volt batts wont hold up in a cart. even using deep cycle batteries doesnt work well at all. The Golf cart batteries have a greater Amp hr rating than your regular 12 volt batts.

Call a Golf cart shop if you are on a budget and see if they have a good set of used batteries. dont mix and match them. make sure they are all the same brand and have the same date stamp on them.

This is just a basic answer others may post even greater details.
Spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:15 AM   #3
freddmc
Gone Wild

At 20 bucks a battery I would think its worth a try. I don't have a sparky so maybe I'm out to lunch. Wouldn't be the first time though. LOL
freddmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:37 AM   #4
mauistardog
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO