lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-16-2014, 06:35 PM   #1
pastor@southwestbaptist.o
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default First cart build...starting from scratch. Advise needed

Hello everyone.

I am new to the cart building world. I have just aquired an Cushman Commander 2100. I know it is made by EZGO and I think it is the same as a workhorse but not sure

It does have a FWD/REV switch on the dash

Anyway...it is missing just about everything. No batteries, no controller, no motor, no solenoid. Just a rolling chassis and body and some wiring.

I want to build a very strong yard cart. I do not want it to go fast (I have children that drive it) but I want it very strong.

I have a lead on a D&D motor that is a Series motor. It is used but it is the limo model set up for torque. It is number 170-004-0001

I am curious as to thoughts on how difficult it will be to use this motor. Can I keep the dash switch if I get something like an Alltrax 500 amp controller?

I was told that this is a regen cart since it has a tow switch but I believe that will all be immaterial if I convert to series by using this used motor...or maybe I should keep it regen???

What are your thoughts? Thank you everyone.

Greg in Ohio
pastor@southwestbaptist.o is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-16-2014, 07:44 PM   #2
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

E-Z-GO

Default Re: First cart build...starting from scratch. Advise needed

Greg.....considering that what you have is only a rolling chassis....you and do what you want. and a series cart would be better suited for the way you intend to use it. And you will be totally building a new drive system, which you don't have at all now.....so starting from scratch shoulded be that big of a deal.