lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-09-2016, 06:25 PM   #1
Fegarex
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Back up buzzer as trigger for back up camera

Great Forum!! I'm new to all of this and digging in the archives has helped me a ton. I have a 2003 36v TXT PDS. I want to add a back up camera I had lying around. I know just enough about wiring to get me in trouble so I like to turn to the experts. I thought I could use the 36v wires coming from the buzzer to something like a headlight relay to trigger a 12v circuit to turn on the camera. It appears that positive line is always hot and the negative line is the one switched from the reverse switch. That used up all my knowledge of relays!
What can I use to switch the camera. Needless to say I assume I would fry it on 36v.
Fegarex is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-09-2016, 06:40 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Back up buzzer as trigger for back up camera

Welcome to BGW
Likely it is 12v automotive so you will need a relay with a 36v switch coil
SPDT (single pole double throw) and a 12v supply for the camera.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 07:46 PM   #3
Fegarex
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Thanks for the quick response!
Please excuse that it might sound like I have no idea what I am talking about because I don't.. What is your normal driving light relay? Is that SPDT or SPST? I know they aren't really rated 36v but thought I would try one to see if it did what I wanted. It would switch on 36 volts but not but not from the back up buzzer.
Old 10-09-2016, 10:01 PM   #4
BobBoyce
Gone Insane
E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fegarex View Post