lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-06-2020, 01:24 AM   #1
abthompson07
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default Charger v. Batteries v. Solenoid

Sorry for the long post but I’m new to working on electric carts and I have a peculiar issue that has my novice expertise stumped.

So I have recently in the last few months purchased a 2009 YDRE. It performed outstanding until about 4 days ago. I had been plugging it in whenever I wasn’t on it but realized I haven’t seen how long the batteries would last (there is no meter or gauge indicating battery life). I was curious because the previous owner said they were just over a year old. It had been a couple days of intermittent riding, Long past what I would have expected them to last without charge, and The Wife was riding the niece and nephew around and it finally died. I was not present but my brother in law appropriately towed it back to the house and put it on charge. The next day I hop on to go check the property and back out of the garage with what feels like full juice, flip it to forward and start out strong and within 30 seconds weaken to a stop. I push it back to the house and plug up the charger.

I have an accusense charge series “smart charger” (picture included). I plug it in to the cart, the detection light flashed 3 times and then kicks off. There’s a small light on the back near the power input of the charger. It’s green when I plug the charger into the wall and after plugging it into the cart and the described action the light next to the power input turns red. I say all this to see if anyone knows if that indicates there is an issue with the charger.