lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-08-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
golferjw1
Not Yet Wild

Default Golferjw1-G14-rebuild

Hello all,
I am back to the forum again, this time with a new project. A buddy of mine saw what I did with my electric EZ-GO and gave me his Yamaha Gasser (95) so someone could use it. Anyways, this thing was in real bad shape (been sitting up for 3 years) and I know absolutely nothing about engines, but I said I would give it a shot. I am a civil engineer and love little projects like this (and the beer I can drink while doing them), it gives me something to do while the wife is inside making lesson plans.

So I have taken the thing apart, bought a manual, and cleaned alot of it up. I finally got it to where the engine turns over when the pedal is depressed, but no spark. I tried running a jumper wire from the negative battery post to the plug, I hope this was the right way to test??

I bought a new ignition coil, but have not plugged it up yet (or screwed it on rather), because the wires that connect to it were missing when I began my rebuild. Looking at the exploded view in the manual, it appears as though it is directional. How do I determine which wires should connect where? My new one is slightly different than the stock, but I assume they work the same.