lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-29-2014, 08:10 PM   #1
trains
Not Yet Wild

Default New #2 cables

I am new to working on golf carts. I have a 2011 48v TXT, I just put a new set of #2 cables on the batteries, to the solenoid and to the controller. Everything else is still stock. The cart seems to have more torque but when I go to full throttle the cart gets to about half speed or so and then cuts off and back on, just as if the key was turned off and then back on. Are the larger cables allowing to much amperage to the stock controller and causing it to shut down?
trains is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-29-2014, 08:28 PM   #2
sbarnes
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: New #2 cables

check all connections first, make sure they are all tight.
sbarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 08:34 PM   #3
trains
Not Yet Wild

Verified all connections are tight.
Old 09-30-2014, 06:19 AM   #4
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

E-Z-GO

you said you replaced the cables on the batteries, to the solenoid, and to the controller.....what about the cables that go to the motor ??? you need to replace ALL of the high current cables otherwise there will be a "bottle neck".
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 08:18 AM   #5
trains
Not Yet Wild

Did not replace the cables to the motor. Can you explain what you think is happening in this scenario?
Old 09-30-2014, 09:05 AM   #6
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Did you flip the Run/Tow switch to Tow while changing the cables?
If not, the TCT controller may have been damaged.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:07 AM   #7
sbarnes
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO