lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-25-2013, 12:58 AM   #1
superuo
Not Yet Wild

Default 98 TXT DCS will not go forward or reverse

I recently bought a 98 TXT DCS. Will not move forward or reverse. Readings at charge receptacle are 36.8. Radio and charge meter work, but horn or lights do not.

I would like to learn to fix this problem on my own rather than take it to a shop.

after reading a thread with a similar thread, I removed the charge receptacle top to inspect the Reed switch. The small white wire going out is cut. There is no wire on the outside of the box. The BL+ and BL- are there but not the small white or a red/wht.

What should I check next? I have limited electrical experience. I will look up and learn anything you tell me, but please be gentle :)
superuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-25-2013, 04:49 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 98 TXT DCS will not go forward or reverse

First, charge the batteries. They are only 62% charged and the plates are sulfating as we speak. (38.2V is fully charged)

Also, DCS controllers have no low voltage protection and running them on low voltage will take out the controller.

In addition, always place Run/Tow switch in Tow before disconnecting or connecting any wires.

Sounds like a previous owner has bypassed the Reed switch, the wire that used to connect to it is now connected somewhere that has battery pack voltage 100% of the time.

With the Run/Tow in RUN, Key ON and F/R in F, does the solenoid click when pedal is pushed?

(The problems with the accessories may be a fuse, but have no effect on the cart running or not)
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:16 AM   #3
superuo
Not Yet Wild