lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-11-2008, 08:45 PM   #1
Jim's Red Buggy
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default G16 don't turn off

I'm a newbie tring to sort out what I think may be an electrical problem with my 1997 gas G16. It began a couple of months ago with the cart stopping running (generally started up again) but then got worse. Strangest thing I've seen with a gas engine. Run great for days and then some days off and on. My trouble shooting was at first through the fuel system and then checking and rechecking all electrical connections and fuses. Now I've got the added problem with the cart not turning off. I've even completely disconnected the switch while running and it keeps running. I tried the things craig tn suggested in a earlier post but so far nothing has been the solution. Do I have 2 problems or one? Is there a common link with the erratic running and the engine not turning off? I've had the cart high in the air with my engine hoist and have not found a bad wiring connection. I've disconnected and reconnected everything I could find. Is there a fuel issue that would keep the cart running? I've worked on cars over 35 years but this cart has me completely baffeled. HELP!!!
Jim's Red Buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-12-2008, 07:21 AM   #2
spriddle
Admin

Yamaha

Default Re: G16 don't turn off

My first thought is a bad peddle switch. Try disconnecting the two wires under the floor pan drivers side and hook a toggle switch up to them to test it.

spriddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 09:47 AM   #3
Jim's Red Buggy
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha