lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-04-2010, 01:40 PM   #1
dlbushey
Not Yet Wild

Default 97 DCS cart F/R switch smoking

*Disclaimer* I have NO knowledge of Golf Carts! (Other than operation)

Hey everybody! After finding this forum 3+ hours ago and searching for some kind of information on my cart, I have discovered that I have a 1997 TXT DCS electric golf cart. (SN 1006736, Manufacture number C1697) I probably could have found out more, but I kept finding cool things to read that kept taking me off track. My ADD kicking in, I guess!

I have owned this cart for 2 years and have never had a problem, however today when I took it out for it's spring maiden voyage, while going up a hill, I began to smell the unmistakable scent of burned conductor insulation. I stopped and lifted the seat and discovered smoke coming from under the cover of the F/R switch.

I checked all of the connections on the battery as well as the F/R switch and found no loose or broken connectors. I could not find what part was smoking as nothing looked burned or felt hot. I continued back to the clubhouse without further incident.

Any ideas on what else I should check/repair/replace?
dlbushey is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-04-2010, 02:39 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 97 DCS cart F/R switch smoking

The DCS F&R is mounted behind the drivers knee.... it's a round hockey puck looking thing when viewed from under the seat. No big cables connect to it just the 2 microswitches..... are you certain you have a DCS cart?

And welcome to BGW !!!
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 04:32 PM   #3
dlbushey
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyb View Post