lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-10-2018, 03:58 PM   #1
MarathonMonkey
Not Yet Wild

Default Loose steering, leaking bellows ezgo marathon

I was given a wreck of a 93 Marathon, and I am enjoying making it right. I am currently on the sloppy steering issue. Everything is tight and working correctly I think. It steers great when I grease it up at the fitting by steering shaft. As soon as I turn sharp, stretching the boot/bellows grease plops out of the splits in the boot and it's loose again. I'm a total novice to steering... Is that boot even supposed to be full of grease? Do I need to find the bushing/seal that's leaking grease into the boot? Or just replace the boot and fill with grease? Any help appreciated!!
MarathonMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-10-2018, 06:05 PM   #2
Goliath
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Default Re: Loose steering, leaking bellows ezgo marathon

The grease coming out of the boot doesn't necessarily indicate the cause of the loose steering. There is a zerk fitting on the outside of the steering box, which can be seen when sitting in the driver's seat. If that is filled with too much grease, about the only place for it to go is into the boot.

It sounds like some of the tie rod ends and/or ball joints have excessive wear. When you pump them with grease, the grease fills the worn areas, temporarily making the steering feel better. When you turn the linkage, the grease is squeezed out, causing the free play to return.