lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-30-2011, 12:26 PM   #1
kevinbydesign
Not Yet Wild

Default 1984 Ez-go 2 stroke No Power- need Help

I have a 1984 ez-go with the stock 244cc 2 cycle engine. It has a serious lack of power. I am a mechanic and i have tried everything i know. I am stumped. I will seriously send a check for $20 to anyone who can tell me what to do to fix it.

The cart will run and start, but barely move. The primary clutch is engaging and the secondary clutch is working as well. With the muffler off the cart moves but barely and never really picks up speed, can't make it up small hill with 1 person. It runs in both forward and reverse. I checked and i don't have the brakes stuck on.

Here is what i tried:

compression test: 120 PSI. did it twice with 2 different compression testers.

It has good spark, i replaced the ignitor and coil and plug, just to be sure though.

It seems to run better with the muffler off. I BBQ-ed my muffler and it still does not have any power with muffler on, then bought a brand new muffler and it still does not have any power. with the muffler off is has more power, but still not as much as it should. Can't even make it up small hills.

I rebuilt the carb. Then put a brand new one on. Then put one on from a cart that was running. All carbs seemed fine. Nothing worked. I really don't think it is a carb issue.

I put in brand new gas, mixed at 100:1, replaced all the fuel lines and the filter.

checked the fuel pump, it was pumping out plenty of fuel, replaced it anyway, made sure to put on a new seal between the pump and the crankcase. No difference.