lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-07-2009, 10:18 AM   #1
kwh3rd
Getting Wild

Yamaha

Question g16, jetted the carb now need help adjusting it

I bought the driven clutch set up and k&n air filter with the 2 jets from plowmans but I cant seem to get the thing adjusted right. It will backfire after getting on for a min but not everytime plus about 3/4 speed it starts to make a gargle noise and looses power. I have tried turning the adjuster with the black cap on it on the back of my carb but it doesnt seem to matter. I was told to pop the cap off so I can turn it past the point that the cap stops you from going further but I am a little new at this. I get it just idling in neutral and then floor it to check for hesitation but when I get that perfect I loose all torque and I get the gargling noise and lose all my top end at about 3/4 speed. Please help me this is so frustrating.
kwh3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-08-2009, 07:51 AM   #2
spriddle
Admin

Yamaha

Default Re: g16, jetted the carb now need help adjusting it

Sounds like an air/fuel mixture problem. How did it run before you installed the kit? You could have a good bit of restriction from the exhaust that is not liking the new massive air flow you got from the carb. Yamaha's are picky about air/fuel mixture. Check your plug and see if it is wet which would indicate too much fuel.

spriddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #3
kwh3rd
Getting Wild

Yamaha