lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-15-2012, 08:53 PM   #1
gregd2
Not Yet Wild

Default textron total charger isn't charging

Hey guys, I'm a newbie and have a question about an old cart charger. It's an older Textron charger that is not putting out any voltage anymore. It was tested at a shop to confirm but I didn't want to pay a $100 diagnostic fee. I connected it to a fully charged 36volt cart and it will only hum. I've opened it up to verify no broken wires or obvious shorts and have ohmed out the obvious stuff. This unit doesn't appear to have a diode or relay on the board. I've got a dvm but not sure how to diagnose whether or not I have a bad board or transformer. It would be nice if I had a spare charger to swap parts with but this is used at my deer lease and there are no other chargers around. Thanks for any advise
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cart charger.jpg (56.1 KB, 8 views)
gregd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-15-2012, 10:33 PM   #2
simple man
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: textron total charger isn't charging

Sounds like the diodes are open or the 50A breaker is kicked out. There are two diodes on a heatsink in this charger. There should be a manual you can download for it at: http://bennettgolfcars.ca/ezgo_manuals.php
Parts are quite reasonable and since it hums, I would say the transformer is good.
simple man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:07 AM   #3
Rickochet
Card Carrying Old Fart

E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregd2 View Post