lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-01-2011, 12:17 PM   #1
snella
Not Yet Wild

Default First cart...2003 EZGO Electirc

I picked up a 2003 EZGO Electric cart yesterday. I go to school in Arizona and got sick of riding my bike all over campus in the heat. The cart came with new batteries and a warranty for 2k. Hopefully I didn't pay too much.

I'm completely new to golf carts and wanted to make sure there's nothing I should do to break in the batteries. Any habits I should get in when it comes to charging/maintenance? Any help for a newbie is much appreciated.

snella is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-01-2011, 12:56 PM   #2
jwdixon
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: First cart...2003 EZGO Electirc

Looks good to me. Regarding how to handle the batteries do yourself a favor and go to scottyb's site and read his battery tutorials. Should give you all you'll need.

http://www.cartsunlimited.net/

John
jwdixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 01:13 PM   #3
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Welcome to BWG

*Charge the batteries fully before using.
*New batteries take a long time to charge, up to 16-18 hrs, and out-gas a lot of hydrogen during the last stages, so watch the electrolyte level and don't let the plates get exposed. Use distilled water only
*New batteries must be broken in properly to get them to hold their full energy capacity. Here is the procedure:
http://www.cartsunlimited.net/Batter...n_Methods.html
*The less you discharge the batteries before recharging, the longer they last. (Wet cell batteries have no memory, so keeping them charged at or near max is a good thing rather than a bad thing like it is for NiCds)
*Never discharge below 50% - Irreversable Sulphation occurs.