lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-23-2012, 01:24 PM   #1
bikegodfather
Not Yet Wild

Default 1999 yamaha g16a no fuel

Im working on a 1999 yamaha g16a for a friend and im not getting fuel out of the fuel tank. Done everything in the fuel pump sticky that was posted ( excellent source of info) im getting vacumn off the crankcase and some vacumn through fuel pump but not enough to pull the fuel up out of the tank. Filled the bowl on carb and she runs great but cant get fuel to the carb. Fuel pump was clean and everything so im thinking I just need a new fuel pump. Any help or thoughts would be appreciated. Im a newbie to the site and man has it sparked my interest in what can be done to a simple ole golf cart. Thanks again and hello from georgia
bikegodfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-23-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
spriddle
Admin

Yamaha

Default Re: 1999 yamaha g16a no fuel

The fuel pump works off vacuum. If you pull the fuel line going to the bowl do you get fuel out of that line, before it even gets to the carb? Be careful checking this, it can be dangerous. Stick the line down in a coke bottle or something to catch the gas. Don't get any gas or fumes near anything that could cause it to combust. Just be safe!

Here's what I would check:

fuel lines too big if they have been replaced: need to be 1/4 and 5/16 if I remember right

line coming off back of crankcase

vacuum leaks: spacer between carb and intake, air box needs to sealed

fuel line connection to carb, go here: http://yamahagolfcar.com/default_video.aspx look up your cart and look at the carb diagram

check the line going down into the tank for cracks or whatever, it may not be picking up the fuel from the tank