lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-09-2015, 09:46 PM   #1
GarryM
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Resistor Coil glowing orange!

As I continue to work thru the 91' Marathon, noticed the resistor coil is glowing orange and smoking. Again, looked over the wiring diagrams and here is what I found our resistor coil pack looks like:

First bolt is totally missing and there is hole in plate. The 3rd bolt wasn't even hooked up and wire just laying there. I've reattached wire to the third bolt, but have no way to contact that first bolt.

I'm no expert on these resistor cowls, but I'm gonna believe not having first one is draining the batteries quickly as well as creating the coil pack to glow orange. No?

Plan is to pull resistor coil pack off cart and inspect, I'm gonna believe will need to buy 3 new coils? Where can you get wires from the resistor coils to contact board as well as to the electric motor? I've looked around but can't seem to locate. Trying to price all this out for the parts.

Again, thanks for any advice or help.

-Garry
GarryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-09-2015, 10:23 PM   #2
crash test dummy

Default Re: Resistor Coil glowing orange!

get the entire assembly
EZGO 1986-93 Complete Resistor Coil Assembly

http://www.golfcartking.com/EZGO-Res...bly-p/2699.htm

get cables on e-bay
Old 05-10-2015, 01:23 AM   #3
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha