lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-30-2016, 07:55 PM   #1
williams3324
Not Yet Wild

Default EZ Go speed upgrade

Ok, so I am new to the golf cart world. We own a 2002 series cart that I assume is bone stock. I am getting spanked by all my friends who have more speed AND torque! Please help!!!! What is the first thing I should upgrade to increase speed? The area we use the cart is somewhat hilly. I am able to go as fast as terminal velocity will allow while going down hill, but up hill is a different story!!! Any help would be appreciated!!!!!
williams3324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-30-2016, 10:12 PM   #2
Clemsoncartguy
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: EZ Go speed upgrade

You shouldn't really go as fast as possible down a big hill you can easily over Rev the motor.

You will need a new motor. There is no controller upgrade that will really make you faster for a series cart, so they tell me. You could go faster, if you really are really lacking on torque as you will gain some of your torque back to make full speed.

Larger tires will allow you to go a bit faster but you loose torque again with it. You could regear your rear end as well.
Clemsoncartguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 10:14 PM   #3
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

going terminal velocity down hill is gonna blow your motor (and maybe controller). putting a speed motor in will help. next steps will be High Speed gears, increase voltage to 48v (which involves lots of parts/$$)..
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 05:55 AM   #4
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

E-Z-GO