lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-09-2010, 09:37 PM   #1
Ronniet
Not Yet Wild

Default G16 sputter& die

I am new to golf carts, a G16 was brought to me to fix for one of my Grandkids.It had been setting awhile. needed some things, , Battery , belts cable ends,filters Key switch etc. Got all of it together, and it takes forever to get fired up, find out the fuel pump is not working, I clean the pump out, and still no pumping, I find out the pickup tube on the gas tank is sucking air.
I built a new one from steel, put new clear vinyl lines on all places and spray carb with cleaner to get it running and soon it fills the lines and starts running, but not good.
This is all done with the air cleaner off, I have read all the post about air leaks etc.
and I can tell the carb has been worked on as the plastic tamper proof thing-a-ma-jig is missing from the air adjustment screw.
So its running like a 2 cylinder just hitting on one.
I had changed the plug already, so I pull the air cover off the fly wheel, give all of that a good cleaning and re-adjustment on the coil/magnet, but still just sputtering. So I adjust the vales and check the springs for breaks etc. all good and going up and down.
Still nothing, every time you touch the throttle to go it backfires a little out the carb.
BTW I took the muffler off and made sure it was clean by using a huge volume of air pushing thru it.
So I take the carb off and give it a cleaning, sure enough someone has beat me to it because one of the float legs are broke off at the float pin.
But all is good as the pin is securely attached and isn't going anywhere.
I just cant take the needle out but it does have the right float angle and shuts off the flow of gas.