lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-12-2017, 11:20 AM   #1
bradpinkston
Not Yet Wild

Default Bad OBC Question

I'm seeing an issue with a 2011 Club Car Precedent. I'm thinking it has to be a bad controller, or more likely an OBC.

Symptoms are that when I turn on the key, I don't see anything register on the battery meter. The reverse buzzer does turn on when put into reverse, but there is no movement when pushing the accelerator.

There is also no response from the speed sensor to automatically stop the cart when rolling it.

I'm a novice when testing this stuff out, but not a complete newbie with carts and electrical systems. If anyone has ideas to help me out, please let me know.
bradpinkston is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-12-2017, 11:27 AM   #2
bradpinkston
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: Bad OBC Question

Can someone help me identify this OBC?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l263eeoetbpgl2j/OBC.jpg?dl=0

Would recommendation be to replace the OBC, or to bypass it and buy a different battery charger?
Old 12-12-2017, 12:16 PM   #3
Sergio
Gone Wild

Club Car

It is not the OBC as a bad OBC would also prevent the reverse buzzer from working.

It sounds more like the controller except for the "battery meter" not working with the key switch.

What kind of battery meter do you have and how is it connected to the cart?
Sergio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 07:22 PM   #4
bradpinkston
Not Yet Wild

The meter is a LED bar. It looks as though it is factory. It is not connected directly to the battery pack. According to some wiring diagrams I’ve seen it runs into the OBC. I’ll need to verify that wiring though.

Should I try bypassing the OBC to test it, or are you certain it isn’t the OBC?