lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-04-2011, 07:50 PM   #1
campingshadow
Not Yet Wild

Question Understanding charger amp readings

I am a female senior citizen manager of an RV park and was just given a used 1990's model EZGO golf cart by the owner along with an EZGO Textron Charger. I know nothing about these chargers other than to plug them in. I have no idea if I am fully charging the cart or not. The charger has a Start dial with numbers 1-11 on the left and then a dial with AMPS readings on the right going from 0 to 30 with the 20-30 range being in the red zone. This charger is a 36V LR69689.

When I plug in the charger it usually goes to 15 amps. To charge it I have been turning the dial to about 6... I am assuming that is 6 hours and gives a slower charge than 2 or 3 but a faster charge than 10 or 11? But I do not know how to tell if it is charged properly or not. Or what the amps should be when it is low or fully charged?

I have searched the net high and low for a simple explanation of how to read and understand this charger and have not found anything. Any help would be much appreciated. I know enough to maintain the batteries. That is the extent of my mechanical knowledge.

In simple terms....what should the amps be if the batteries are low or fully charged and what setting should I be using to charge the batteries?
campingshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-04-2011, 08:16 PM   #2
kernal
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Understanding charger amp readings

I have the same charger.