lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-25-2014, 01:19 AM   #1
konakid
Gone Wild

Cushman

Default Intermittent F+R Problem

I am very new to electric golf carts, but not to troubleshooting and fixing most things. But this is a brand new area for me, so trying to understand a lot of the terms I came across searching for an answer was a challenge.

I just came home with a used 36 volt EZGO. I don't have all the specs, but you may not need them just to get me pointed in the right direction with a fix. A photo is attached nonetheless

Hopefully this is a simple diagnosis because it is intermittent - either working perfectly fine in forward and reverse, or not working at all. The F+R switch is a three position toggle on the dash - photo attached.

I hear what I assume is the solenoid under the set when switching the toogle. Sometimes it then goes forward or reverse perfectly. But about half the time I have to switch it back and forth several times to get it to work. But I always seem to hear the solenoid. I can't hear anything differently when I switch and it works, or when I switch and it doesn't work.

I am hoping it may just be the switch. Can anyone give me any feedback on what to do first? I would like to pull that switch out and check the contacts, but I am not even familiar with how to remove it. I don't see any easy way to get behind the dash there. The nuts don't look as if they can be removed. Can I pop the switch out?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg golf1.jpg (143.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg golf2.jpg (169.6 KB, 0 views)
konakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-25-2014, 08:03 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Intermittent F+R Problem