lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-04-2015, 07:02 PM   #1
Fairtax4me
Bonafide Nincompoop

Club Car

Default Fe350 Drive clutch help?

Hi guys, Newb to the world of golf carts here, but I'm a mechanic and no stranger to tinkering with internal combustion.

I've recently started a job for a business that owns about a dozen golf carts. They all seem to be late 80's to mid 90's models, with the exception of one 08, though I haven't checked serial numbers on all of them yet.

Anyway, reason Im here: We have two Transporter carts. Both 97 models. One 4 seat, one 6 seat. They both have the FE350 engine, both have the same issue. You start the engine, put your foot on the accelerator and it revs wayyyyy up then slams into "gear" spins the tires for a second then stalls, unless you keep your foot planted on the pedal, then it takes off spinning wheels and tries to throw you out of the seat. Trying to reverse them out of their parking spots was a challenge. Ended up just pushing one.
I know this cant be good for the transmission.

Seems like a drive clutch problem? There is some wear on the cone faces of the clutches, but no grooves. Belts are not in great shape, there is some wiggle room between the belt and the clutch cones at the rest position.
Once driving, they react smoothly to changes in throttle and changes in incline. We have some pretty steep hills here and the transition from flat to up-hill or downhill is nice and smooth, and they both pull pretty strong uphill.