lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-03-2017, 08:15 PM   #1
dschaffer
Not Yet Wild

Default To build or to buy?

Hello all. I am new to golf carts and have definitely got the bug. I'm pretty sure I have narrowed it down to a gas Yamaha. First I should tell you my plans of use. This cart will mostly be for driving around the many two tracks near my house. It might occasionally be used for light yard work but the big reason I think I am choosing a gas Yamaha is for snow plowing in the winter. We have a small driveway so it won't get too abused but after checking out plowmems site, I feel like maybe the g22 is the way to go. I am wide open for suggestions but I plan on either buying or building a plan Jane cart. What that means is that I have very little interest in the looks of the thing. My priorities are practical use, longevity, a back seat and a little speed. I'm thinking a 3" lift with 10" wheels and bigger tires should serve me well. It sounds like I will need the plowmen engine/clutch mods if I really want to push some snow. Now for the question of to build or to buy, I definitely can not afford one of plowmens set ups right now. What I could likely afford is an already lifted rig that doesn't have any other mods. Am I better off paying $4000 for a lifted fancy "looking" rig and modifying the engine/clutch and adding a plow as money allows? Or should I pay closer to $2500 for a plan Jane cart with no mods and build it myself? Also, what should I be looking for in a used cart? Thanks in advance.
dschaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-03-2017, 09:20 PM   #2
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

Default Re: To build or to buy?