lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-17-2019, 11:57 PM   #1
V73W
Not Yet Wild

Default Onboard 12v charging possibilities

I'm new to carts and feel as though this may be beating a dead horse but I have a question about the viability of charging a 12 volt accessory battery on board without a "separate" charger.

Here's my idea. Run a switched battery isolator (commonly used in my experience with car audio to charge a battery to power accessories without draining your main battery, also most are rated to handle from 12 to 48v), to that connect a 36 to 12v converter to then keep the 12v accessory battery charged. The beauty of the switched battery isolator is you could either place a switch on say the dash to manually connect and disconnect the 12v accessory battery so you are not constantly drawing from your 36v bank. If you weren't worried about manually trying to charge the 12v battery the "ignition" or switched remote could be turned on from a lead attached to the charger port so it only connects the second battery and thus charges it when the cart is plugged into the charger. A manual switch could also be used to give a little juice to the 12v when it has been drained while using accessories i.e. radio, winch, lights, etc.

I know this would not be the cheapest route to go for having a separate 12v batt for accessories and keeping it charged but it would streamline the charging process where if someone didn't know to hook up a separate charger or you just forgot you should never be left with a dead accessory batt, my biggest concern for use is with a winch due to high draw and our hunting area can get pretty muddy so it might get used regularly and I would hate to find out my battery is dead miles from camp.