lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-01-2015, 08:24 PM   #1
aeson
Not Yet Wild

Default 92 ez go marathon acts as if the petal is floored

Good evening. I recently got a free 4 wheeled EZ GO marathon. It needed new batteries and I changed them and everything is working fine except that if you engage the petal the cart lurches forward as if you have floored it. This happens in both forward and reverse. If you take you foot off the petal the motor stops but it seems to only want to go the one speed, it may be top speed i'm not sure. I am an HVAC tech and pretty handy at troubleshooting electrical systems but don't have too much experience with DC motors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

This model has a speed controller.

Last edited by aeson; 07-01-2015 at 08:25 PM.. Reason: Added more details.
aeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-01-2015, 08:37 PM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: 92 ez go marathon acts as if the petal is floored

Check throttle sensor potentiometer. Black & white wires on controller terminals 2 & 3. Its 0-5000 ohm throttle Should be near zero ohm with pedal at rest and near 5000 ohm at full throttle. Do this test on the wires with them unplugged from controller, and key off, shifter in middle position not F or R.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150701_183127.jpg (57.4 KB, 0 views)
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 08:46 PM   #3
crash test dummy

slow post .... lol

more than likely it's the Potentiometer

good read >>> http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/elect...-pictures.html
Old 07-01-2015, 09:09 PM   #4
aeson
Not Yet Wild