lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-18-2020, 10:54 AM   #1
Kolassus
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Post Golf Cart issues Controller or Solenoid???

Good afternoon. This is my first post. I am new to the golf carting world. I bought a 96 club car ds. Seemed to be in very good shape when I first got it. My wife and my kids go on drives multiple times a day around our neighborhood and community.

Since I bought the cart, I have added 6 brand new batteries, a back seat, a 6” lift kit, 23” tires, and a light kit. It has changed the cart a lot and we love it even more. Shortly after I installed the light kit, about a day or two, the cart when dead on me. It would not do anything. I took the solenoid out, cleaned the connections and still nothing. I gave up. Ordered a new solenoid and put the cart on the charger to maintain the batteries. I checked maybe an hour later and tried it. The cart ran perfect. Almost felt stronger and faster than normal.

I drove another two days and bam, cart did the same thing. This time, nothing I seem to do has fixed it. Once or twice, the cart will move like an inch, but that is all. The battery pack is fully charged. I am getting power to solenoid and it click. I believe I’m getting power to the controller.

I have. A few questions.

First, could installing thoughts have done anything? I have them on a 12v dv converter. They still work perfect. Bright. Never flicker.

Second, could this be the solenoid still or could
It be the controller? Would me adding the lift kit and tires have caused either rod these to go bad sooner?

Third, what are the odds this is a motor problem?