lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-07-2020, 06:26 PM   #1
kgarvey
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Question 96 DS Upgrade Discussion

Newbie here on the steep side of the learning curve. I am looking to upgrade my recently acquired '96 DS. It's a PowerDrive Plus Regen 1 (or II). First, I'd like confirmation that I'm on the right track. Here's what I know about this cart.

48v A9644- series
Rocker type F/R switch
No Tow switch (or, has been disconnected)
Original Club Car (black) controller
Replacement OBC installed 3/2000 (Lester Electrical 18300)
Two solenoids: main and dynamic braking
Motor: stock 3.2 hp (series, or shunt wound, don't know, but sepex I think)

I want to upgrade any components necessary to give me more speed (probably the first time you've read something like that.

Looking at High Torque Motor & Controller Conversion System - Club Car DS Regen I & II, $1,410 (Buggiesunlimited.com.)

Questions:
1. Is there a less expensive alternative, like just replacing the motor with a 3.75 hp motor that uses all other existing components? If so, what motor do you recommend that is compatible with existing components? Should power wiring be replaced (4 guage)?

2. What's the easiest way to work on these carts? Remove the batteries? Get a lift? Remove the body? Assume I'll be installing new everything from the kit mentioned above.

3. Is this something someone with moderate mechanical skills can do, or is a professional more advisable?

Thanks for any help, guys and gals. Much appreciated.
Kip
kgarvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-07-2020, 06:37 PM   #2
Reddawg454
Grumpy Old Guy

Club Car

Default Re: 96 DS Upgrade Discussion