lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-08-2018, 09:57 PM   #1
67birdman326ho
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default EZGO RXV locked in place no TOW or emergency mode

Hello everyone,

Until today, I've been enjoying my 2013 EZGO RXV for almost two years. Driving onto my drive way I went over a bump, the golf car shook multiple times in rapid succession and then stopped/locked in place. I tried to set to TOW so I can move the car, that did not work. Set the connectors to emergency mode following the instructions, that did not work either. The golf car basically does nothing(no clicking or reverse beep sound) when I switch between R, N and F. I've never had any electrical issues or any issues with my golf car before. Well maintained since purchased.

While checking for any obvious red flags, I noticed the Curtis controller's multi pin connector had the locking tab broken and the wiring harness connector was loose on the controller connector socket and just part of the way out. I suppose the resulting vibration while going over the bump loosen the connector. I read somewhere on this forum(Bob?) that the Curtis controller memory will get corrupted if it gets hit with voltage glitches while in run, which sounds like what happened in my case. Any way, I've checked the following:
1. Visually checked and wiggled the connector under the cup holder. No corrosion on pins.
2. Battery voltage @ 50VDC
3. There is no voltage to the solenoid coil while in R, N or F. I believe this solenoid coil voltage comes from controller.
4. Visually checked the wiring to the key switch, all ok.
5. Checked all the relevant fuses including the 10amp and 7.5amp located on the TOW switch panel. OK